A New Uke Tune

IMG_4532

All songwriters have their weapon of choice when it comes to actually putting words and music together. For me, I always reach for the classic six string when I feel a melody coming on.

However, even though I love the grounded feel of my old guitar, it can be refreshing to opt for an instrument you aren’t so familiar with.

It can be easy to stay in your comfort zone and pluck away at the same guitar, piano, or banjo for every song, but sometimes all you need to get to the next level in your craft is to drop the familiar and push your comfort zone. Once you do that, you will be able to learn, grow, and even call yourself the owner of a new sound.

Last week, I was in a writing groove. Having written about five songs back to back with my guitar, I was in the mood for something a bit different. Luckily, my ukulele was just an arm’s reach away. Within a matter of minutes, I opened my writing world up to endless possibilities, and a new song was born.

This song probably wouldn’t have come alive if not for the switch of instruments and new perspective that my uke brought with it.

Whether the piece turns out to be the next Grammy winner, or your ears are the only ones to hear it, the risk of change is worth the reward of revitalized creativity.

Listen to a demo of that new uke tune here.

Leave a Reply

