What You Learn in a Year

I have been here in Nashville just shy of a year. About 11 months ago, I packed my bags, hugged my cat, and set out on the 9 hour trek South. Moving so far away from Kansas City has had its ups and downs and unexpected twists sideways, but I have never stopped learning. In honor of this first year coming to a close in a matter of weeks, here are 5 of the most important lessons I have learned while living in Nashville, TN.

It isn’t considered a maintenance emergency when there is a bird in your laundry room.

I learned this lesson the hard way. One fateful Saturday morning, I heard chirping from my laundry room. A bird had made a nest in the dryer vent, and somehow ended up in my apartment. One call to the maintenance team, and I quickly learned that I was on my own. Needless to say, I now have a cover on my outdoor vent, and reoccurring nightmares that the winged pest has found another way in.

Too many people make for too much traffic.

It’s no secret that Nashville’s population is growing. The problem is, the roads are not. There are simply too many cars on the limited roads. This fun fact means countless wrecks every morning, and an hour long commute that should only take 15 minutes.

When it snows, the entire town shuts down.

I’m from the Midwest. I love snow, and am used to having to go to school and work even when a foot of white powder covers the road. However, when it snows in the South, you better be prepared to stay at home with Netflix for the whole week. I’m not joking – one morning after a “significant winter storm” passed through overnight, I walked outside to my car, only to find a couple of flurries on the windshield. This town may overreact, but I do have to admit I enjoy the paid snow days from work.

Not going to Belmont is the equivalent of having a third eye.

Being in the music industry, it is pretty much expected that you went to Belmont University, or at least enrolled for a semester before dropping out. When you tell someone that not only did you not go to Belmont, but in fact you went to a women’s college to study Theatre Arts and Business, you get used to people staring at you like there is a major deformity front and center on your face.

Never slow down.

This town changes every day. What people are singing along to on the radio today, usually ends up forgotten about in a matter of weeks. You can’t work and write for what you hear now – you have to constantly be doing something different and creating the next best thing. A big part of this town is a waiting game of climbing social ranks. Instead of mindlessly waiting in the lobby for your name to be called, keep your head down and work. That way, when people do start to listen, you have something worthwhile to give them.

It’s hard to believe that a month from now marks an entire year that I have been in this city. I’m not certain of a lot when it comes to Nashville, but I do know it will continue to teach me lessons worth learning for as long as I am here.

Leave a Reply

