My Life in the Movies

We all know that life is nothing like the movies. Our day to day schedules rarely reflect what Hollywood materializes, and our happy endings don’t always come.

And although it is unlikely that any of us will ever find the love of our lives and get married within 2 hours of knowing him or her (unless you are on the Bachelor or Bachelorette, of course), it is still fun to think about what it would be like if we could live inside of those magical worlds known as movies.

If given the option, there are several motion pictures that I would love to live my life inside. For example:

Anastasia
Growing up, I watched this movie more times than anyone could manage to count. Even now I pop this masterpiece into the dvd player as often as possible. I would give anything to be able to join Anastasia and Dimitri on their “Journey to the Past”, plus Rasputin is probably the best real life villain to ever grace a cartoon.

Titanic
I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again – If given the chance, I would go back in time and board the Titanic, even knowing the tragic outcome. Unfortunately, time travel has yet to exist, so this movie is the closest I can get. That’s okay though, because who doesn’t want three and a half full hours of watching a young Leo DiCaprio?

The Duff
One of the lesser known movies to recently be released into theaters, The Duff is a masterpiece. Mae Whitman brilliantly plays the movie version of myself, and gets the absolute honor of getting to live with Allison Janney. Not to mention, this movie is home to some of the best one liners ever written.

Rent
Hear me out, I know that Rent is basically just the story of a group of tenants being rude to their landlord, but this musical turned movie is one of the best films ever put together. Sure, the stage version is better, but the movie version of Rent still holds a special place in my heart. I mean, come on, isn’t Mark just the greatest character? P.S. The only thing that could make me want to hang out with this band of misfits more is if the Hollywood executives making the movie would have kept in the song Halloween. Pure. Genius.

Into the Wild
No, I probably wouldn’t last more than a few days in the actual wild, but Alexander Supertramp (also known as Christopher McCandless) is easily one of the most interesting figures I have ever come across. I would do anything, including live in the Alaskan wilderness, to be able to talk literature and life with this tragic hero.

Movies are great because they create an escape from the real world that we live in for a couple of hours at a time, allowing us to go back to our own reality at the end of the story. However, I stand by my choices and would love for the chance to exist in the worlds mentioned above, if only for a day.

Leave a Reply

