Graduate

graduateart

 

I don’t miss high school. I really don’t miss college either.

But the past couple of weeks have been pretty weird for me.

You see, I graduated from college a year and a half ago. I completed my degree and minor in two and a half years, then got out. Since then, I’ve been busy with the “real world”, living in Nashville and writing. It’s been great. I wouldn’t trade graduating early for the world.

However, over the past few weeks, my social media feeds have been full of my high school acquaintances going on and on about finally getting that diploma and being done with school. They have all done the standard four year route, and are now about to make the leap that I made in December 2014.

These couple of weeks have been a weird sort of nostalgia for something that I never cared for. I can’t help but think that, if I had chosen a “normal” college experience, that would be me. I wouldn’t have moved to Nashville yet, and would be just hours away from putting on that cap and gown.

That’s a weird feeling. But I am so thankful that isn’t me. That isn’t my story. That wasn’t what I needed, or even slightly wanted.

I never liked school. I always did well at it, but the process just didn’t suite me. I would easily grow bored, then frustrated, then restless. I wanted out from the second each semester started, always looking forward to what was beyond institutionalized learning.

I wanted experiences. I wanted to move to Nashville. So I did.

And yes, I am still fairly new out of the college world, but I can’t see my life any other way. The past year and a half has been a big learning experience – something much more worthwhile than anything I could have gathered in a classroom.

It’s nice to see my peers so excited about this milestone. Good for them. But while they are breaking down over all of their “lasts”, I am quite content continuing on my journey of “firsts”.

While I don’t miss high school or college, I recently wrote a song about what it would be like if I did. You can listen to it here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

