My Digital Dilemma: Owning a Kindle

image1.JPG

Yes, my Kindle is titled “Melanie The Great”.

I am a traitor.

I promised myself a long time ago that I would never, under any circumstances buy an e-reader. I was convinced that e-readers, such as the Kindle, took away from the magic of the written word, and quite frankly, were going to be the downfall of literature.

Well, I was wrong.

I first started to ease into the idea of purchasing one of these horrible devices a couple of years ago, right before I was to leave for three months of summer stock theatre, in a town with no access to a library or Barnes and Noble. Yes, I could pack an extra suitcase full of novels, but all of a sudden a small little tablet that could hold thousands of books and even let me check out titles for free online from the library didn’t seem like such a bad idea after all.

So I gave in.

As I paid for my Kindle on that fateful May day, I thought I felt a little part of me dying on the inside. I had crossed a line from which I could never return. I owned, and had every intention of using, an e-reader.

However, I am here to tell you that, here I stand two full years later with a Kindle proudly sitting on my nightstand, and I am all the better for it. Here’s why:

Easy Access: Life gets chaotic, and most days I don’t have the time to make a library run. With my Kindle, I am able to download a new book in a matter of seconds.

Healthy Competition: One of the best features of my Kindle is the “x minutes left in book” that flashes across the bottom of the screen – which I, in turn, always try to beat.

Travel Friendly: As someone who always carries a book wherever I go, the slim style of an e-reader allows my backpack (and shoulders) some much needed relief.

Secret Reads: Embarrassed that you are reading the latest trashy Hollywood memoir? Unless you start blabbing about it on your Goodreads account, your secret is safe between you and your Kindle.

Safety: No paper means no paper-cuts. Speaks for itself.

While my Kindle will never replace the love I have for physical books (I mean – that smell!), I am happy to report that owning and using an e-reader is not as terrible as I once imagined it to be. Yes, I will always prefer tangible books over their digital counterparts, but there’s no denying it – I love my Kindle.

Leave a Reply

