22 Things from My 22nd Year

cake-727854_1920

While many are celebrating the ringing in of 2017, I am busy getting ready to turn another year older on the 8th. In honor of my 23rd birthday tomorrow, here are 22 things that happened during my 22nd year:

  1. Lived a full year in Nashville, TN.
  2. Wrote hundreds of songs.
  3. Started my own freelance business.
  4. Started a new job.
  5. Saw Eric Church play Ernest Tubb’s Record Shop from the front row.
  6. Read 90 books.
  7. Visited Kansas City 4 times.
  8. Attended the CMT Awards.
  9. Cut my hair…once.
  10. Discovered the magic of the Nutribullet.
  11. Saw The Wild Feathers play the Ryman.
  12. Watched every possible Sporting KC Game.
  13. Became a little too obsessed with Sporting KC.
  14. Saw needtobreathe play Starlight Theatre.
  15. Cooked a Thanksgiving dinner.
  16. Had my apartment flooded.
  17. Started a blog.
  18. Took an hour long Uber ride when my car broke down.
  19. Saw both of my songwriting heroes (Brandy Clark and Holly Williams) in the same day.
  20. Was disappointed by Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life.
  21. Wrote even more songs.
  22. Gained clarity on what 23 would hold.

All in all, 22 was a great year. I learned a lot, grew a lot, and figured out the next steps to make 23 even better. So here’s to the last 365 days, and the obscene amount of gluten free funfetti cupcakes I am going to eat this weekend.

Leave a Reply

